Battle for Bishopsgate as voters head back to polls

bishopsgate_Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0) Photo by David Holt

Four candidates are gearing up for this week’s Bishopsgate by-election, all eager to replace Prem Goyal as ward rep.

Joanna Abeyie, Shraven Joshi and Patrick Streeter, running as Indpendents, and Labour’s Adedamola Aminu have thrown their hats into the ring ahead of the 20 March vote.

The seat was vacated when Mr Goyal succeeded in winning the Alderman post in the Portsoken ward in December.

It is the second time Bishopsgate has headed to the polls since the City elections last March, electing former Epping Forest mayor Benjamin Murphy to replace Pooja Suri Tank in November.

news london
Benjamin Murphy was elected to represent the Bishopsgate Ward in November.

The successful candidate will join Mr Murphy, Tom Sleigh, Wendy Hyde, Andrew Mayer and Simon Duckworth in representing the ward underneath Alderman The Rt Hon the Baroness Patricia Scotland of Asthal, QC.

Bishopsgate is a business-dominated ward, with 838 worker voters registered on the 2016/17 ward lists compared with just 75 residents.

Voters can cast their ballots at St Botolph without Bishopsgate between 8am and 8pm on 20 March, with the results expected to be announced sometime on Tuesday evening.

Lead image: David Holt. Licensed under Creative Commons 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0)