106 women offered Freedom of the City in historic move


Over 100 women will receive the Freedom of the City of London to commemorate the centenary of the Representation of the People Act 1918.

The Court of Common Council today set the final seal of approval upon the Freedoms, paving the way for presentation ceremonies to take place at Guildhall over the coming months.

Drawn from a wide range of backgrounds – but all with a connection to the City – the 106 women include the likes of Sally Balcombe, chief executive of VisitBritain/VisitEngland; Louise Jeffreys, artistic director at the Barbican Centre; and Jodie Whittaker (cover image), Guildhall School of Music & Drama graduate and actor best known as the first female Doctor in Doctor Who.

news london
Louise Jeffreys, artistic director of the Barbican Centre, has been offered Freedom of the City

City policy chair Catherine McGuinness extended her congratulations to the army of new Freedom holders, who were unveiled just ahead of International Women’s Day on 8 March.

“My colleagues shared my enthusiasm to invite women from as many walks of life as possible, and I am very encouraged that we exceeded our target of 100 women, and that we can announce the news ahead of International Women’s Day,” she said.

“I hope that our new Freemen enjoy attending their ceremonies and will take pride in their Freedom, which is one of our most historic and celebrated traditions.”

The following women have agreed to be listed as recipients of the Freedom of the City of London award:

The Venerable Elizabeth Adekunle, Archdeacon of Hackney; Kathleen Agatiello, a Santander Bank Branch Director; Katherine Andrews, an Economist; Sally Balcombe, a Tourism Company Chief Executive Officer; Fiona Beale, a Chartered Surveyor; Katherine Braddick, a Public Servant; Dr Miranda Brawn, A Business, Legal and Diversity Executive; Jane Brewin, Chief Executive Officer at Tommy’s; Beverley Bytheway, an Art Consultant; Ruth Calderwood, a Local Government Officer; Jacqueline Campbell, an Assistant Housing Director, retired; Margaret Campbell, a Livery Company Clerk;Francesca Canty, a Chief Executive Officer and Artistic Director; Denise Challis, a Consultant Paediatrician, retired; Sabine Chalmers, a General Counsel;Beth Charley, an Autism Speaker and Campaigner; Angela Darlington, a Chief Risk Officer; Liz Davis, an Artist, retired; Professor Jo Delahunty QC, a Barrister, Lecturer and Judge; Nausicaa Delfas, an Executive Director of International at Financial Conduct Authority; Professor Lynn Dobbs, a University Vice-Chancellor; Helen Evans, an Advice Services Team Manager; Nicola Farmer, a Restaurateur; Beryl Freeman, a Secretary, retired; Jayne-Anne Gadhia DBE, a Financial Adviser; Paola Galley, a Secretary; Meg Game, an Ecologist, retired; Mary Gillmore, a Company Director; Janice Glegg, a Livery Company Personal Assistant; Kristina Glenn, a Charity Director; Jacqueline Glynn, a Senior Project Manager; Kate Griffiths-Lambeth, a Human Resources Director; Leula Habte, an Administrative Assistant; Ena Harrop, a Headmistress; Claire Louise Harvey, a Leadership Consultant; Jocelyn Hillman, a Charity Chief Executive; Karen Holden, a Solicitor; Jeanette Holland, a Solicitor; Ruzena Holub, an Interpreter and Teacher; Beverly Hurley CBE, a Chief Executive Officer; Alexandra Jackson, a Fund Manager; Louise Jeffreys, an Artistic Director; Reverend Laura Jørgensen, Rector of St Botolph without Aldgate;Reverend Alison Joyce, Rector of St. Bride’s Church; Barbara Jones, an Historian and Archivist; Kirsten Keegan, a Solicitor; Speranta Knowles, a Corporate Services and Events Manager; Danai Kyriakopoulou, a Chief Economist; Corinne Lee, an Asset Management Company Director; Dame Susan Leather, a Chair of Public and Charitable Organisations; Elena Leva, an Events Manager; Rachel Levy, a Librarian; Celine Lutzu, a Finance Administrator Manager; Anne Mason, a Local Government Officer; Catherine McBride, an Economist; Eugenie McKenzie, a Legal Secretary; Krystal Miller, a Communications Manager; Penelope Miller, a Solicitor; Rt. Revd & Rt. Hon. Dame Sarah Mullally, The Bishop of London; Tulsi Naidu, an Executive; Susan Primmer, a Communications Director; Arabella Ramage, a Solicitor; Heather Rawlins, a Livery Company Steward; Angela Roach, a Local Government Officer; Connie Robins, a Flower Company Director; Professor Patsy Rodenburg OBE, Voice Coach and Professor of Text & Poetry at Guildhall School of Music & Drama; Alexa Romanelli, a Solicitor; Antonia Romeo, a Civil Servant; Lisa Ronson, a Property Developer; Kate Royal, an Opera Singer; Greta Sandler, a Social Work Manager, retired; Annette Saunders, a Corporate Responsibility Manager; Baroness Fiona ShackletonValerie Shawcross, a Local Government Politician; Deborah Lynn Sherry, a Chief Commercial Officer; Heather Sibley, a Global Head of Real Estate and Services; Samantha Smethers, The Chief Executive of the Fawcett Society; Rosamund Smith, a Personal Assistant; Sandee Smith, a Legal Personal Assistant; Neleen Strauss, a Restaurateur; Rosamund Sweet, MBE, a Police Community Support Officer; Clarisse Tavin, an Architect; Sophie Timms, a Head of Corporate Affairs; Justine Voisin, a Lawyer, retired;Melanie Wadsworth, a Solicitor; Petronella West, a Chief Executive Officer; Susannah Wilks, an Urban Regeneration Director; Jodie Whittaker, an Actress;Lynne Williams AM, Principal of Guildhall School of Music & Drama; and Deborah Wosskow OBE, a Businesswomen Networking Company Director.

Cover image by ByPip.