Trust of Worshipful Company of Educators name outstanding educators


The Trust of the Worshipful Company of Educators has announced the winners of its 2020 awards for outstanding educators.

Chairman of the Trust, Dr Jennifer Somerville, said she was delighted with the calibre of the nominees.

She said: “Our award winners go from strength to strength each year and the winners become more and more varied, from teachers of all levels and all sectors to educational leaders, curriculum designers and developers, programme managers, tutorpractitioners in the arts, mentors and facilitators.”

The Trust’s main award, the Inspirational Educator Award, the theme of which was ‘Teaching Shakespeare in Challenging Settings’, received 20 nominations from both prestigious and modest organisations in the field.

The five judges, including Dr Alison Findlay, chairman of the British Shakespeare Association, said that every one of the nominees was worthy of the prize.

Pamela Taylor, Master Educator 2019-2020, said: “In keeping with the long-established traditions of the Livery Movement, the Educators have, since their inception almost 20 years ago, been fully committed to a programme of charitable outreach towards those engaged in the vital work of education and training.

news london

NOW READ: Smoke on the water as DragonFest 2020 takes roost

“To this end, we have built up our own tradition of charitable awards and bursaries given to outstanding and inspirational educators working in a wide range of settings, some of them particularly challenging.

“We wish to celebrate exceptional dedication, as well as promoting a better understanding of the challenges and successes in education and training across the full age range.”

The winners will be presented with their awards at the Annual Awards Dinner on 24 April 2020 at Painters’ Hall.

The eight winners are:

Jamie Brown, Director of Learning at 1623 Theatre Company, Derby.

Geoghia Ellinas, until recently Head of Learning at Globe Education (London’s Globe Theatre).

Sam Kendall, Sherbourne Fields School (SEND), lead in Coventry for Shakespeare Schools Foundation.

Rowan Mackenzie, researcher-practitioner at HMP Birmingham HMP Leicester, HMP Stafford, HMP Wakefield, HMP Gartree – nominated by four organisations.

Sally Maddison, Sir John Sherbrooke School, lead in Nottingham for the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust.

Darren Raymond, Artistic Director, at Intermission Youth Theatre Company, London.

Dr Bruce Wall, Founder (with Dame Dorothy Tutin) and Director of London Shakespeare Workout Prison Project.

Dr Nick Walton, Courses Development Manager and academic researcher, at Shakespeare Birthplace Trust, Stratford-on-Avon.

Continuing Yearly Awards:

Gerry Alabone, Frames and Wood Conservation Tutor, City & Guilds of London Art School, and academic researcher, Geoffrey Bond Bursary Award for Art.

Sheila Cohring, Head of Galleywall Primary Academy, London: The Educators Company’s Master’s Award for outstanding school leadership.

Nicola Cook, CEO of Company Shortcuts, London: Mary Lou Carrington Award for a Business Woman with a Significant Contribution to Education.

Ishmail, Peer Mentor, at HMP Kirkham, Preston. Educators’ Trust-Prisoners’ Education Trust joint award, ‘Prison Educator of the Year.

Lizzi Kew Ross, Choreographer, Researcher and Teacher at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance, London: Keith Hutton Legacy Bursary Award for Theatre and Performing Arts.

Follow City Matters on TwitterInstagram and LinkedIn.